knowing him

I’ve been meditating on Matthew 7:22-23:

On that day, many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, didn’t we prophesy in your name, and in your name cast out demons and do many powerful deeds?’ Then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you. Go away from me, you lawbreakers!’

especially the phrase “I never knew you”.  Contrast that with John 17:3:

Now this is eternal life — that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you sent.

and it gives the total criteria for salvation.  If a person really knows God, on a personal intimate basis, then there’s no sin that won’t be forgiven.  Of course the opposite is true as well.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

