Bride? (part 2)

I’m still meditating on the bride thing.  A couple comments on my earlier post got me going again this morning.   The thing, the essential thing I think, is this.  We men tend to orient around doing things.  Getting things done.  Accomplishments.  And of course, all the appropriate tools (a.k.a.; toys) to do the job well.

Women tend to focus on relationship.  And specifically, on intimacy.  They’ve got us (men) beaten there.  They start focusing on relationships earlier and seem to have an entire sense – beyond taste, touch, sight, sound, and smell – dedicated to relationship.  I’m talking as an outsider here, but I think I’d get general agreement if I asked the question to a mixed audience.

And intimacy is what I believe we’re supposed to learn from the picture of the church as the bride of Christ.  To fully know the other, and to be fully known by them (1 Corinthians 13:12).  Passionate.  Nothing held back.  Completely open.  Completely vulnerable.   Totally in love.  Intimacy is what he desires with us, and what he want as our desire for him.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Bride? (part 2)”

  1. fierybones Says:

    I’m thinking about intimacy in relation to my first post on the church as Christ’s bride. King David was a manly man, right? He faced down Goliath without armor and didn’t hesitate to pull out his sword to whack the giant’s head. “Saul killed his thousands and David his ten thousands” the people chanted. That sounds manly enough.

    But look at the Psalms. Everywhere David expresses his desire for intimacy. “Turn to me and be gracious to me for I am lonely and afflicted” (25:16). “Oh Lord I love the habitation of your house and the place where your glory dwells” (26:8). “One thing I have asked from the Lord, that shall I seek; That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord and to meditate in his temple.”

    So David – king, conqueror and warrior – had no issue persuing intimacy with God.

Leave a Reply

