fruit and nuts

The fruit of the Spirit is [still] love, joy, peace, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

Fruit, that’s what you get when when you plant something, nurture it, and allow it to grow to maturity.

I don’t mind all the, what I might call antics, of Spirit-filled people.  Falling down, twitching, jerking, laughing and all of it are okay with me.  But the main evidence – the only evidence that matters – is a changed life as the result of constant communication with God our Father.

The Holy Spirit is our interface with the Father.  The Spirit is how we’re connected to him and how he communicates with us.

If Jesus, the natural-born son of God, needed the the Holy Spirit – how much more do we adopted children?

Then John testified, “I saw the Spirit descending like a dove from heaven, and it remained on him. (John 1:32)

So Jesus answered them, “I tell you the solemn truth, the Son can do nothing on his own initiative, but only what he sees the Father doing. For whatever the Father does, the Son does likewise. (John 5:19)

For I did not speak on My own initiative, but the Father Himself who sent Me has given Me a commandment what to say and what to speak. (John 12:49)

But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all truth. For he will not speak on his own authority, but will speak whatever he hears, and will tell you what is to come.  He will glorify me, because he will receive from me what is mine and will tell it to you. (John 16:13-14)

I am not praying only on their behalf, but also on behalf of those who believe in me through their testimony, that they will all be one, just as you, Father, are in me and I am in you. I pray that they will be in us, so that the world will believe that you sent me. The glory you gave to me I have given to them, that they may be one just as we are one –I in them and you in me — that they may be completely one, so that the world will know that you sent me, and you have loved them just as you have loved me. (John 17:20-23)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

