unalloyed

God spoke to me through three different scriptures today.

I’m a couple chapters into Mark and Patti Virkler’s book Dialog with God. Chapter two points out the passage in Ezekiel 14 where the elders came to the prophet to ask God a question. God responds to them: “Since you’ve come to me with idols in your hearts, I’m going to answer you regarding your idols”.

I might further paraphrase: “You’ve already decided what you’re going to hear and what you’re going to do.  Why should I answer you?  Get the garbage out, then we’ll talk.”

This may become a pivotal verse for me.  What God is saying is that he is actively involved in the ongoing purification of my heart.  Even though I know him and pray to him, he’s not going to answer when I’ve placed a man-made idea or concept as his equal in my life and mind.

As I was reading the verses in Ezekiel I was reminded of the one at the beginning of James’ letter where he says: “But he must ask in faith without doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed around by the wind.  For that person must not suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord, since he is a double-minded individual, unstable in all his ways.”

Satan’s first words to Eve were calculated to introduce doubt.  And doubting God is an indication of an idol.  It means I’ve believed God is less than he is, or something else is greater than he is.

The third verse was one Adam Edelstein posted on Facebook.  It’s in Paul’s second Corinthian letter where he wrote: “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

Together the three verses said to me: “God wants my whole heart.  He is at work on me, through my relationship with him, revealing the impurities.  He expects me to use the power tools he has provided to continually purify my heart of the things he is revealing.”

Not a bad word for a day, eh?

Leave a Reply

